Wisconsin

An ignition interlock device is required to be installed on the vehicles of repeat DUI offenders in the state of Wisconsin. In addition, any first time offender who registers a BAC that is .15 or greater (or refuses to submit to any alcohol-related testing) will be required to install such a device as well.

In the state, a first offence is considered to be a misdemeanor. You will be required to pay a fine of $300 and your license will be suspended. These penalties are greater if there is a minor under the age of 16 present in the vehicle at the time of arrest.

A second offence is also considered to be a misdemeanor charge. You will be required to pay a fine of $1100 and your license will be suspended for a period of 1 year. In addition, you may have to serve a jail term of 5 days to 6 months, depending upon the severity of the DUI. As before, if a minor under the age of 16 was present in the vehicle at the time of arrest the penalties will be greater. In addition to this, your cars may be immobilized, or you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in each of them.

A third offence is also considered to be a misdemeanor charge. You will be required to pay a fine of $2000, and your license will be suspended for a period of at least 1 year. In addition, you may have to serve a jail term of 5 days to 6 months, depending upon the severity of the DUI. As before, if a minor under the age of 16 was present in the vehicle at the time of arrest the penalties will be greater. In addition to this, your cars may be immobilized, or you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in each of them.