Virginia

In the state of Virginia, the installation of an ignition interlock device is required in every DUI case. The driver must install this device in each car that he or she owns and each car that is registered in his or her name. The driver must also participate in a state-sponsored alcohol safety program.

The length of time that the ignition interlock device or devices must be installed will be determined by the courts, and will be for a minimum of 6 months. When the device is installed by court order, a $20 court fee will be assessed.

The ignition interlock device must be obtained from a state-approved manufacturer, and the driver will be responsible for all associated fees and costs of installing and maintaining the device. The driver will also be responsible for having the device calibrated every 30 days, as well as submitting the device’s electronic log. If the driver fails to accomplish these tasks, his or her license will be immediately revoked.

If the driver must operate a vehicle that is owned by his or her employer, then that employer can make a request to the court for that driver to be allowed to operate an employer-owned vehicle that is not equipped with an ignition interlock device. This rule does not, however, apply in cases where the driver owns the business in question.

Please note that it is strictly prohibited to drive any vehicle that is not equipped with an ignition interlock device during the period when it must be installed. In addition, tampering with or otherwise misleading the device is considered a misdemeanor. As a result of this misdemeanor, the offender will face further legal action.