Utah

In the state of Utah, the installation of an ignition interlock device is required in all DUI cases. In addition, the severity of your DUI will determine whether or not your license is suspended or revoked. In most cases, however, your license will be simply suspended. You will typically only face the revocation of your licenses for a second offence, or when your DUI resulted in injury or death.

In the vast majority of cases, the ignition interlock device must remain installed in your automobiles for a period of 18 months. For those who refused a breathalyzer or have previous DUI convictions, the ignition interlock device will have to remain installed for a period of 3 years. In the case of a DUI that is ruled to be a felony by the state, the ignition interlock device will need to be installed for a period of 6 years – or 10 years when the DUI resulted in a fatality.

Please note that if you fail to comply with the laws regarding the use of an ignition interlock device, then you could face steep fines and a jail term. In addition, your license will be suspended for one year, and you will be required to continue using the ignition interlock device for another 3 years.

When you are arrested for a DUI in the state of Utah, you will be issued a temporary license that is valid for a period of 29 days, and most likely that state will impound your vehicle.