In the state of Texas, your license can be suspended in two ways as the result of a DUI offence. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer test, or if you refuse to submit to one, then your license will be confiscated immediately. After your license is confiscated, you will be provided with a temporary permit, which allows you to continue driving for a period of 15 days. During this period, you may elect to challenge your suspension. If you fail to make such a challenge, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, then your license will be suspended for 90 days following the expiration of the temporary license.
Judicial: The courts in Texas may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement.
For a first offence, you will face a jail term of 3 days to 6 months, be fined up to $2000, and will face a license suspension of a 90-day to 1-year duration. In addition to this, you may be instructed to install an ignition interlock device.
For a second offence (or a first offence where your BAC was .15 or greater), you will be required to install an ignition interlock device and to keep it active for a 1-year period. Also, you will be fined up to $4000, and you will face a jail sentence that ranges from 30 days to 1 year.
A third or subsequent offence is considered a felony in the state of Texas. You will face a prison term of 2 years to 10 years, be required to perform between 160 and 600 hours of community service, and your licenses will be suspended for a period of 6 months to 2 years. In addition to this, you may be fined up to $10,000. After you regain your license, you will be required to pay a fee of $2000 each year in order to keep your license active.