In the state of Rhode Island, your license can be suspended in two ways as the result of a DWI. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer test or refuse to submit to such a test, then your license will be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles. For this suspension, you will be allowed to have a hearing in order to challenge it. If your challenge is unsuccessful or if you fail to make such a challenge, then your license will be suspended for a period of 45 days to 2 years, and you will subject to possible confiscation of your vehicle or having an ignition interlock device installed.
Judicial: The courts in Rhode Island can also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as the result of a plea agreement.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$100 – $500 + a $500 highway assessment fee||1 year or less (or community service for 60 hours)||30 days to 18 months|
|2nd||$300 – $1000||1 year or less||1 year to 2 years|
|3rd||$400 – $5000||1 year to 5 years||3 years|
Please note that the above are only general guidelines, and that the courts in Rhode Island will scale the penalties based upon the severity of the DUI incident. Also note that the installation of an ignition interlock device will be mandatory following a 3rd DUI offence.