Your license can be suspended in two different ways in the state of Oklahoma. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test or you fail such a test, then your license will be immediately confiscated at the scene. In its place, you will receive a temporary license, which will allow you to drive for 15 days. During this period, you may elect to challenge your suspension. If your challenge is unsuccessful, or if you fail to make a challenge, then your license will be suspendered for a period of 6 months following the expiration of the temporary license. The installation of an ignition interlock device will be required in order for you to regain your driving privileges.
Judicial: The courts in Oklahoma may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement that you reach with the prosecutor.
In the state of Oklahoma, if you are convicted of a DUI offence where your BAC is .15 or higher, then you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on every car that you own or is registered to you. In addition, you will also need to have an electronic log, which tracks the ignition interlock device.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$1000||10 days – 1 year||180 days|
|2nd||$2000 or less||1 year – 5 years||1 year|
|3rd||$5000 or less||1 year – 10 years||3 years|
|4th||$5000 or less||1 year – 20 years||3 years|
Depending upon the severity of your case, you may be eligible for a hardship license after 30 days of suspension, which will allow you to use an automobile for certain approved purposes. However, you will need to install an ignition interlock device in order to obtain this hardship license.