Your license can be suspended in two ways in the state of New Hampshire. One is administrative and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you fail to pass or breathalyzer test, or if you refuse to submit to one, then your license will be suspended at the scene. In its place, you will receive a temporary permit, which is good for a period of 30 days. While this permit is valid, you will have the option of challenging your suspension. If your challenge is unsuccessful, or if you elect not to challenge, then your license will be suspended for a period of 180 days following the temporary permit’s expiration.
Judicial: The courts may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement entered into with the prosecutor.
In the state of New Hampshire, any driver that is convicted of a DUI offense in which their BAC was determined to be .18 or greater will have to have an ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle that he or she own or is registered to him or her.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$500 or less||None||9 months to 2 years|
|2nd||$750 or less||10 days or less||3 years|
|3rd||$750 or less||180 days or less||Indefinite|
|4th||$750 or less||180 days or less||Indefinite|
In addition to the above, you may be required to submit to alcohol and substance abuse screening and treatment.
Also, it is possible to regain your driving privileges in the state of New Hampshire by submitting to the installation of an ignition interlock device.