Nebraska

A DUI offence in the state of Nebraska is committed when you are found to be operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) that is .08 or higher. If you are operating a commercial vehicle, then the threshold is lower at .04. In addition to this, if your BAC is .15 or higher, you may be subject to penalties that are in excess of those for lesser DUI offences.

Some Rules About Nebraska DUIs

  • Anyone convicted of a drunk driving offence will be compelled to attend and pay for an alcohol assessment, and could also be asked to seek treatment for alcohol and substance abuse.
  • For a first offence, you will be subject to a minimum of 7 days and no more than 60 days in jail. In addition to this, your license will be suspended for a period of 6 months, and you will have to pay a fine that could be as high as $500.
  • For a second offence, you will be subject to a minimum of 30 days in jail, and your license will be suspended for a period of 1 year. Also, your car could be immobilized for a period not longer than 1 year. In order to avoid this immobilization, you may be able to consent to having an ignition interlock device installed within your automobiles.
  • For a third offence, you will be subject to a minimum of 90 days and no more than 1 year in jail. In addition to this, your license could be suspended for a period anywhere from 2 years to 15 years, and you will fined a sum of $600. Your car may also be immobilized. In order to avoid this immobilization, you may be able to consent to having an ignition interlock device installed within your automobiles.
  • For a forth offense, you will be subject to a minimum of 6 months and no more than 5 years, and your license will be suspended for a minimum of 15 years. In addition to this, you will face fines that range from $1,000 to $10,000. Your car may also be immobilized. In order to avoid this immobilization, you may be able to consent to having an ignition interlock device installed within your automobiles.
  • For a fifth offence, you will be considered a felon. You will be subject to a minimum of 1 year and no more than 15 years in jail. Your license will be suspended for a period of 15 years, and you will face fines that range from $1,000 to $25,000. Your car may also be immobilized. In order to avoid this immobilization, you may be able to consent to having an ignition interlock device installed within your automobiles.