Missouri

In the state of Missouri, there are two ways in which your license can be suspended following a DUI offence. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.

Administrative: If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test, or if you fail such a test, then your license will be immediately suspended. You will be given a period of 15 days in which you can request a hearing over the matter. If you fail to request such a hearing, or if you’re unsuccessful in challenging your suspension, then your license will be suspended for a period that is determined by your driving record.

Judicial: In addition to the above, the courts may also suspend your license. This would happen as the result of sentencing or a plea agreement reached with the prosecutor.

Offense Fine Jail Time Suspension Period
1st $500 or less 5 months or less 30 days
2nd $1000 or less 1 year or less 5 years or less
3rd $5000 or less 5 years or less 10 years

 

Following a first offence, you may not have top cease driving after your license has been suspended. In this instance, you would have to install an ignition interlock device in your automobile. If your license has been suspended, but you need to drive in order to travel for work or other important reasons, then you may be eligible to receive a Limited Driving Privilege. In order to receive this, you must serve at least 30 days of your license suspension – or 90 days if you refused a breathalyzer test.