The state of Massachusetts can suspend your license in two different ways following a DUI offence. One is administrative and the other is judicial.
Administrative: When you fail a breathalyzer test at the scene or refuse to submit to one, your license will be immediately confiscated. Your license will then be suspended or revoked depending upon your driving record and previous offences. In place of your license, you will be given a temporary permit, which lasts 15 days. You may elect to challenge your suspension during this period. If your challenge is unsuccessful, or if you elect not to challenge, then your license will be suspended for a period of 30 days following the expiration of the temporary permit.
Judicial: The courts may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement you enter into with the prosecutor. It should be noted that the state of Massachusetts has a lifetime look-back period. This means that prosecutors can use any previous DUI conviction (no matter how long ago it was) to increase the penalties assessed.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$500 to $5,000||1 year or less||1 year|
|2nd||$600 to $10,000||2 ½ years or less||2 years|
|3rd||$1,000 to $10,000||150 days to 2 ½ years||8 years|
|4th||$1,500 to $25,000||1 to 3 years||10 years|
|5th||$2,000 to $50,000||2 to 5 years||Revoked permanently|
Any person with multiple DUI offences in Massachusetts will be required to have ignition interlock devices installed in their motor vehicles. In addition, if you seek a hardship license, then an ignition interlock device will also be required and must be used for the duration of the license and then the following 2 years.