Louisiana

In the state of Louisiana there are two ways in which your license can be suspended as the result of a DUI offence. One is administrative and the other is judicial.

Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer test or refuse to submit to one on the scene, then your license will be immediately suspended. In its place you will receive a temporary license, which is good for a 30-day period. You will also be given 15 days to challenge your suspension. If you fail to challenge the suspension, or your challenge is unsuccessful, then you will have your license suspended for a period of 6 months. There may also be additional penalties assessed by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Judicial: The courts may also elect to suspend your license as part of sentencing, or a suspension may be part of a plea agreement you enter into with the prosecutor.

Offense Fine Jail Time Suspension Period
1st $300 – $1000 10 days to 6 months 90 days
2nd $750 – $1000 30 days to 6 months 1 year
3rd $2000 or less 1 year to 5 years 2 years
4th $5000 or less 30 years maximum 2 years

 

The penalties may be in excess of the above if the driver’s BAC was over .20. In this instance, a driver will have to have an ignition interlock device installed on his or her vehicle in order to have his or her driving privileges restored.

For a second offence and all after it, a driver will be ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed in his or her automobile(s).

If a driver applies for a hardship license in order to commute to and from work, that driver will be required to install an ignition interlock device in his or her automobile.