Kansas

The state of Kansas requires that a person convicted of a DUI offence have an ignition interlock device installed on each car that the person owns or is registered in his or her name. This device must also be linked to an electronic log.

Your license can be suspended for a DUI offence in Kansas in two different ways.

Administrative: When a driver fails a breathalyzer test or refuses it at the scene, his or her license is immediately suspended. After this, the driver will have a period of 14 days in which to challenge the suspension. It’s important to note that refusing a breathalyzer test can result in a suspension that is in excess of 1 year.

Judicial: The courts may also suspend a driver’s license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement reached with the prosecutor.

Offense Fine Jail Time Suspension Period
1st $500 – $1,000 + court costs 2 days (or 100 hours of community service) 30 days followed by 330 days of ignition interlock device
2nd $1000 – $2,500 + court costs 90 days to 1 year 1 year of suspension followed by 1 year of ignition interlock device
3rd $1,500 – $2,500 + court costs 90 days to 1 year 1 year of suspension followed by 1 year of ignition interlock device
4th $2,500 + court costs 90 days to 1 year 1 year of suspension followed by 1 year of ignition interlock device
Subsequent  $2,500 + court costs 90 days to 1 year Permanently Revoked

 

For third and any following offences, the driver will be required to submit to post-release supervision for a period of one year. In all cases, a driver must complete a treatment program for alcohol abuse before any driving privileges can be restored.