Iowa

In the state of Iowa, some OWI offenders can apply for a restricted license provided they have an ignition interlock device installed within any automobile that they own or is registered to them. A driver’s eligibility for this will vary depending upon the offender’s driving record. This restricted license will only allow an offender to drive for the following purposes:

  • Employment
  • Health-related matters for the offender or a dependent
  • Education
  • Care of a child
  • Treatment for substance abuse
  • Community service ordered by the court
  • Appointments related to probation or parole

Your license can be suspended or revoked in Iowa in one and / or two ways.

Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer test or refuse to take one your license will be suspended at the scene.

Judicial: The courts may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as the result of a plea agreement made with the prosecutor.

Depending upon the number of offences a driver has, the penalties vary.

For a first offence, a driver will:

  • Serve a jail term of 48 hours to 1 year
  • Be fined between $625 and $1,250
  • Have their license suspended for 180 days
  • Possibly be required to seek treatment for alcohol abuse

For a second offence, a driver will:

  • Serve a jail term of 7 days to 2 years
  • Be fined between $1,850 and $6,250
  • Have their license suspended for 2 to 6 years
  • Be compelled to seek treatment for alcohol abuse

For a third offence, a driver will:

  • Serve a jail term of 30 days to 5 years
  • Be fined between $3,125 and $9,375
  • Have their license revoked for up to 6 years
  • Have their vehicle impounded or immobilized
  • Pay for a substance abuse evaluation and any related treatment