Illinois

In the state of Illinois, drivers who have committed a DUI offence are required to have an ignition interlock device installed within any car that they own or is registered to them. This is the only way in which such a driver can maintain driving privileges during a suspension or revocation.

Suspension: When you fail a breathalyzer test or refuse to take one, your license will be suspended by the arresting officer. This suspension will take effect following a 46-day period after a notice of suspension has been issued.

Revocation: In cases where someone has been injured or killed as the result of a DUI-related accident, the driver will have his or her license revoked, with no guarantee of its reinstatement. In order to have the license reinstated, the offending driver must prove to the Secretary of State that a reinstatement of the license is warranted.

A license suspension is completely independent of any criminal proceedings related to a DUI offense. Therefore, it’s important that you attend to both matters.

If you license is suspended, you can petition for a Monitored Device Driving Permit, which will require you to have an ignition interlock device installed in order to drive. In the case that your license has been revoked, you can not apply for such a permit. However, you can apply for a Restricted Driving Permit, which will also require you to have an ignition interlock system installed.

If you elect not to apply for the MDDP and choose to serve out your suspension, then it’s important to note that operating a motor vehicle that does not have an ignition interlock system is a felony. A conviction for this could result in a 3-year jail term and a fine of up to $25,000.