In the state of Idaho, there are two ways in which your license can be suspended as the result of a DUI arrest. One is administrative and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer test at the scene – or refuse to take one – your license will be confiscated and suspended. In its place, you will receive a temporary license that will allow you to drive for a period of 7 days. With this license you can attend to any affairs related to challenging your case. If you elect not to challenge your case, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, then your license will be suspended for a period of 3 months following the expiration of the temporary license.
Judicial: In addition to the above, the courts may also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement that you reach with the prosecutor handling your case.
There is a dispensation for first-time offenders: They can apply to have their driving privileges restored, provided they install an ignition interlock device on every car they own or is registered to them. However, those drivers will be responsible for all costs and fees related to installing the ignition interlock device or devices. Additionally, the devices will need to be monitored by the state, and failing to submit to such monitoring will cause the automobile to be locked out. If the vehicle is locked out, the car must be towed to a service provider that can reset the lockout.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$1000 or less||6 months or less||90 days to 180 days|
|2nd||$2000 or less||10 days to 1 year||1 year|
|3rd||$5000 or less||30 days to 5 years||5 years or less|
NOTE: A driver cannot apply for any special driving privileges following a second or third offense. Also, while DUIs in Idaho are typically misdemeanors, especially egregious cases can be considered felonies.