There are two ways in which your license can be suspended as the result of a DUI in the state of Hawaii. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.
Administrative: Your license will be immediately confiscated if you fail a breathalyzer test at the scene or if you refuse to take one. In its place, you will receive a temporary license, which will allow you to drive for a period of 14 days. The purpose of this temporary license is to allow you the chance to attend to all affairs related to challenging your case. If you fail to make a challenge, or if the challenge you do make is unsuccessful, your license will then be suspended for a period of 90 days following the expiration of the temporary license.
Judicial: The state of Hawaii may also suspend your license as part of a criminal judgment or a plea agreement that is entered into with the prosecutor handling your case.
NOTE: There is a dispensation for first time offenders. A driver is typically allowed to obtain restricted driving privileges after 30 days of license suspension, provided that driver has an ignition interlock device installed within his or her car.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$150 – $1,000||48 hours to 5 days||3 months to 1 year|
|2nd||$500 – $1,500||5 days to 14 days||1 to 2 years|
|3rd||$500 – $2,500||10 days to 30 days||1 to 5 years|
|4th and more||Court’s discretion||5 years or less||Permanent|