In the state of Florida, there are two ways in which your license can be suspended. One is administrative and the other is judicial.
Administrative: Your license will be suspended or revoked if you fail a breathalyzer test or if you elect to refuse to take one. At the scene, the arresting officer will confiscate your license and provide you with a temporary 10-day driving permit. You can use this permit to conduct your affairs should you elect to challenge the case. If you elect not to challenge the case, or if your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended for 6 months following the end of the temporary driving permit’s 10-day duration.
Judicial: In addition to the above, your license can also be suspended as part of a sentencing in court, or as part of a plea agreement entered into with the prosecutor.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$500 – $1000||6 months or less||180 to 365 days|
|2nd||$1,000 – $2,000||9 months or less||5 years|
|3rd||$2,000 – $5,000||30 days to 12 months||10 years|
|4th||$2,000 – $5,000||5 years or less||Permanent|
The DUI laws in Florida require that any driver who is convicted of a DUI offense equip any vehicle that the driver owns or has registered to him or her with an ignition interlock system. The state will also mandate the driver attend a DUI school, and may also order additional alcohol education and evaluation.
Also, if the DUI circumstance is especially egregious (a BAC of .15 or greater or there is a minor present in the vehicle at the time of the DUI), the penalties can be more severe than the above.