In the state of Delaware, there are two forms of license suspension following a DUI.
Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer or refuse to take one, you will have a period of 15 days to request a hearing over the matter. After this period, your license will be automatically suspended for a period of 3 months.
Judicial: Your license can also be suspended as part of a criminal judgment or a plea arrangement with the prosecutor.
In order to request an administrative hearing related to your suspension, you can visit the Delaware Department of Motor Vehicle’s website.
For first time offenders, you will be allowed to request a restricted license after a period of 30 days. However, if your BAC is registered at .15 or higher, then you will have to have an ignition interlock device installed in any automobiles you own or are registered in your name. You will be able to do this following a 45-day suspension period.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$500 – $1,500||6 months or less||365 days maximum|
|2nd||$750 – $2,500||60 days to 18 months||18 to 30 months|
|3rd||$1,500 – $5,000||1 to 2 years||2 to 3 years|
|4th||$3,000||2 to 5 years||5 years|
|Subsequent||$15,000||3 to 15 years||60 months (revoked)|