Colorado

A suspension of your license as the result of a DUI offence can come about in two ways in the state of Colorado.

Administration: The suspension happens automatically when you’re arrested for driving with BAC of .08 or higher. It is imposed by the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Judicial: A suspension may also be imposed by the court as the result of a judgment or as part of a plea agreement with the prosecutor.

In the state of Colorado, there are two classes of impaired driving offences. In addition to the standard DUI (a BAC of .08 or higher) there is also a DWAI, which stands for driving while ability is impaired. This covers individuals who operate a motor vehicle with a BAC between .05 and .08.

Violation Suspension Period Points
.08 or higher BAC 9 months
2nd offence .08 or higher BAC 1 year
3rd offence and all others of .08 or higher BAC 2 years
DWAI None 8
1st DUI offence 9 months 12
2nd DUI or DWAI 12 months DWAI: 8DUI: 12
3rd DUI or DWAI 24 months DWAI: 8DUI: 12

 

Offense Jail Fine Public Service
1st DWAI 2 to 180 days $200 – $500 24 to 48 hours
1st DUI 5 days to 1 year $600 – $1000 48 to 96 hours
DWAI or DUI with previous DWAI or DUI 10 days to 1 year $600 – $1500 48 to 120 hours
DWAI or DUI with two or more previous DWAI or DUI 60 days to 1 year $600 – $1500 48 to 120 hours

 

It’s possible to get an early reinstatement of your license following a first offense. However, in order to do this, you will have to install an ignition interlock device in your car.