Pennsylvania

Unlike other states, in the state of Pennsylvania all suspensions and penalties related to DUI offences are handled by the courts. Because of this, jail terms vary widely depending on the severity of the DUI.

BAC 1st Offence 2nd Offence 3rd Offence
< .1 No Jail Time 5 days 10 days
>= .1 < .16 2 days 30 days 90 days
>= .16 3 days 90 days 1 year

 

Offense Fine Suspension Period
1st $300 6 months probation
2nd $2500 or less 1 year
3rd $5000 or less 1 year to 18 months

In some cases you may be able to apply for and obtain an Occupation Limited License after serving 60 days of your suspension. This will allow you to drive for approved purposes. If you license was suspended for a period of 18 months and you have one prior offence, then you can also apply for the Occupational Limited License after one year, provided you install an ignition interlock device in any car that you own or is registered to you.