There are two ways in which you license can be suspended in the state of Oregon as the result of a DUI. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you refuse to submit to a breathalyzer test or if you fail one at the scene, then your license will be suspended immediately by the arresting officer. In your license’s place, you will receive a temporary permit, which is good for a period of 10 days. During this 10-day period, you may elect to challenge your suspension. If your challenge is unsuccessful, or if you elect not to make such a challenge, then your licenses will be suspended for a period of 3 months following the expiration of the temporary permit.
Judicial: The courts may also suspend your license as a part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement that you enter into with the prosecutor handling your case.
In many DUI cases in the state of Oregon, you will be allowed to regain your driving privileges if you elect to install an ignition interlock device in any car that you own or is registered to you. You will be eligible to do this after serving 30 days of your license suspension. However, you will be responsible for all costs and fees associated with installing the device or devices, as well as the monitoring by the state of those devices.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$1000 or more||2 days or more||1 year|
|2nd||$1500 or more||2 days to 1 year||3 years|
|3rd||$2000 or more||2 days to 1 year||Revoked|
Please note, that if your license is suspended by the court that you will be eligible for the ignition interlock program after 30 days for a first offence, 1 year for a second offence, and 10 years for all subsequent offences. The duration of the interlock period for your automobile can range anywhere up to 2 years.