Ohio

As the result of operating a vehicle while impaired (OVI) in the state of Ohio, your license can be suspended in two different ways. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.

Administrative: Your license will be suspended if you refuse to consent to or fail a breathalyzer test at the scene. The length of this suspension will depend upon your previous driving record, and can range anywhere from 90 days to 5 years.

Judicial: In addition to the above, the courts can suspend you license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement entered into with the prosecutor. Some judges may elect to put your administrative license suspension on hold, which will allow you to regain limited driving privileges. However, there is a waiting period before this can take effect, which lasts between 15 days and 3 years, depending upon your driving history.

# of Offences in the past 6 years Submits to and fails breathalyzer Refuses breathalyzer test
1st 90 days 1 year
2nd 1 year 2 years
3rd 2 years 3 years
Subsequent 3 years 5 years

Please note that if you elect to plead guilty or no content, then when you are convicted any time that your license has already be suspended will count against any suspension duration imposed by the court.

Conviction Fine Jail Time Suspension Period
1st $250 to $1000 3 days to 6 months 6 months to 3 years
2nd $300 to $1500 10 days or more, plus monitoring 1 year to 5 years
3rd $800 to $10000 30 days or more, plus monitoring 3 years to revocation