Nevada

In the state of Nevada, your license can be suspended in two ways as the result of a DUI offence. One is administrative, and the other is judicial.

Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer test or refuse to submit to one at the scene, then your license will be suspended immediately by the arresting officer. In its place, you will receive a temporary license that is good for a period of 7 days. While the license is valid, you can elect to challenge your suspension. If you challenge is unsuccessful, or if you elect not to challenge, then your license will be suspended for a period of 90 days.

Judicial: Your license can also be suspended by the courts. This will happen either through sentencing or through a plea agreement with the prosecutor.

Offense Fine Jail Time Suspension Period
1st $400 – $1000 2 days – 6 months 90 days
2nd $750 – $1000 10 days – 6 months 1 year
3rd $2000 – $5000 1 year – 6 years 3 years
4th $2000 – $5000 2 years – 15 years 3 years

NOTE: Penalties may be in excess of what is above if your BAC at the time of arrest was .18 or higher.

When the court suspends your license, it may be possible to regain limited driving privileges by having an ignition interlock device installed in your automobiles. Additionally, the installation of such a device will be mandatory following a third offence and all others that follow.