In the state of Maine, there are two ways in which your license can be suspended as the result of an Operating Under the Influence offence. One is administrative and the other is judicial.
Administrative: If you fail a breathalyzer test or refuse to take one at the scene, then your license will be immediately suspended and confiscated. In its place, you will receive a permit, which will allow you to drive for a period of 10 days. During that 10-day period, you may elect to challenge your suspension. If your challenge is unsuccessful, or you elect not to challenge the suspension, then your license will be suspended for a period of 3 months following the expiration of the temporary permit.
Judicial: The courts in Maine may also suspend your license as a part of sentence or as part of a plea agreement you make with the prosecutor of your case.
In the case of a first-time offence, a driver can apply to have his or her driving privileges reinstated after 30 days, provided they install an ignition interlock device within in his or her automobile.
|Offense||Fine||Jail Time||Suspension Period|
|1st||$500 or less||2 days or more||Up to 90 days|
|2nd||$700 or less||7 days or more||3 years|
|3rd||$1,000 or less||30 days or more||6 years|
|4th||$2,100 or more||6 months or more||6 years|
In addition to the above penalties, the state may impound your vehicle, and you may be required to seek treatment for alcohol and substance abuse.