Indiana

In the state of Indiana, a driver must install an ignition interlock device in each of his or her vehicles following a second DUI offence.
A first offence in the state is considered a Class C Misdemeanor. Potential penalties for this misdemeanor include a fine of $500, a license suspension of up to 90 days, and probation. In addition to this, if the driver’s BAC was .15 or more, a jail sentence of up to 60 days could be assessed.
A second offence in the state is considered a Class D Felony, which carries with it numerous penalties. These include:
• Time in jail from 5 days to 3 years
• 180 hours of community service or more
• A license suspension period of 90 days to 2 years
• Fines of up to $10,000
• Possible treatment for alcohol and drug abuse
You will be a second time offender if you have another offence that occurred within the previous 5 years. In this instance, you may be able to request a probationary license, which will usually require you to have an ignition interlock device installed within your automobiles.
A third offence in the state is also considered a Class D Felony, which carries with it numerous penalties. These include:
• Time in jail from 10 days to 3 years
• 360 hours of community service or more
• A license suspension period of up to 2 years
• Fines at the discretion of the courts
• Mandatory treatment for alcohol and drug abuse
In this instance as well, you may be able to request a probationary license. Like a second offence, you most likely will be required to have an ignition interlock device install within your automobiles.