Connecticut

In the state of Connecticut, a person convicted of a DUI offense will mandatorily have their license suspended for a period of 45 days or until the individual’s 21st birthday. Following this period, the individual must use an interlock device for a period of one to three years – the duration will depend upon prior DUI convictions. Your license can be suspended in two different ways:

Administrative: This comes from the Department of Motor Vehicles if you fail a breathalyzer or refuse to take one. Typically, this suspension period begins after a period of 30 days. The Department of Motor Vehicles will determine the duration of the license suspension – considering the nature of the offence and prior offences – and notify the individual by mail. This period could last anywhere from 6 months to 6 years.

Judicial: The courts can also suspend your license as part of sentencing or as part of a plea agreement with the prosecutor.

An individual is only eligible for an ignition interlock device following a criminal DUI conviction.

  • After a 45 day suspension (or whatever the courts have determined the suspension’s length shall be) an individual can apply for an interlock device.
  • An individual must serve 48 hours of jail time at a minimum, or they must perform 100 hours of community service. A fine will also be assessed.
  • In the case of a second or third offense, an individuals vehicle could be confiscated or impounded, and that individual’s license could be permanently revoked.
  • For any second offense within a 10-year period, an ignition interlock device must be installed for a period of 3 years following the end of the license suspension.