Alaska

In the state of Alaska, the rules regarding the use of ignition interlock devices are fairly stringent. When a driver is convicted of driving under the influence within the state, that driver will be compelled to install an ignition interlock device in all vehicles he or she owns or are registered to him or her. In addition to this, the ignition interlock device must also include an electronic log device, which tracks the ignition interlock device’s use. The driver will also be responsible for all of the costs and fees related to the installation of the ignition interlock device.

When your license is suspended for drunk driving, you will not be allowed to operate your motor vehicle unless an ignition interlock device has been installed in the car. In addition to this, there are other things that the courts may compel you to do. You may, for example, be required to get screen and evaluated. Also, you may be required to participate in an alcohol safety program as part of parole or probation.

Offense Jail Time Fines Suspension Length
1st 72 hours or more $1,500 90 days or more
2nd 20 days or more $3,000 1 year or more
3rd 60 – 120 days $4,000 – $10,000 3 years or more
4th 90 – 120 days $5,000 – $10,000 5 years or more
5th 240 – 360 days $6,000 – $10,000 5 years or more